Beaujolais is a French Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC) wine. There are a variety of 12 appellations or approved labels in the Beaujolais.

Beaujolais is written with an “S” because there are 12 of them.

No, Beaujolais isn’t only Beaujolais Nouveau. And, even if this is the most famous ambassador of the Pays Beaujolais, there is no reason to forget the other appellations. The ’s’ at the end of Beaujolais is because there are 12 of them:


This appellation spreads over the largest area. Par of the wine produced there is enjoyed all over the world in November as Beaujolais Nouveau.

Beaujolais Villages

The vines for these wines grow in 38 communes make up 25% of the total wine production in Beaujolais. These wines are also sold as Beaujolais Villages Nouveau.

The Beaujolais Crus

Brouilly, Chénas, Chiroubles, Côte-de-Brouilly, Fleurie, Juliénas, Morgon, Moulin à Vent, Régnié, and Saint Amour and the 10 Beaujolais Crus that are the jewels in Beaujolais’ crown. It’s well worth the wait if you leave them in the bottle for a few years. Connoisseurs wait for the spring following the harvest before tasting them. They wait for the Beaujolais Crus to have “done their Easter duty” (fait leurs Pâques) as the winemakers say. This means that the Crus have reached maturity and can be appreciated at their full value.

View in a larger map